Posted by: travisodee | January 3, 2014

80 Color Changes during a Printing Press Check? See for yourself

Just pulled up a Color Test of 80 color tiles.  This is what we go through during a Printing Press Check.  The Farnsworth Munsell 100 hue test was developed for designers, colorists, and printers whose trades rely heavily by near perfect color match.  This requires not only the pressman and his color adjustments, but the eyes of those on the press check in making critical moves to potentially all Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and Black, also known as CMYK.

I took this test back in 2001 with the actual discs and scored a 2.  I tied with our lead pressman.  You would have thought every ad agency in the US would have used me for all of their print needs, but I didn’t sell this strength of mine as I don’t like to brag.  Now it may be too late…I scored a 4 this go’round.  Still….solid for a Printer…extremely solid.  I can brag now.

Travis Stein's Test results

Travis Stein’s Test results

So take the test yourself here, and let me know how you did.  If you beat me, you’ll win an OD sticker.  Giving out such an elegant prize shows my confidence in not overthrowing the Color King!

The Color King

The Color King

Good Luck!!

Travis Stein
Principal Partner
The Odee Company; est 1923
travis@odeecompany.com

Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Test
Responses

  1. I scored a 4 … didn’t beat you but I’m still pretty pleased with it.

  2. Sorry guys but got a 0 which is not bad for a 50ish bloke.

  3. […] good eye or 2 if you’re going to be in the graphic design or print industry. We have used the Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Test before. In 2001 I personally scored a 2. Flexed my muscle, dropped the PMS book and walked out of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

